You are here: Home > Home > Nursing > Service Lines & Programs > Medicine Service

Medicine Service

 

Medicine Inpatient Management is the Management Department of all inpatient Medicine Units. Medicine Inpatient Management is a dynamic service line with specialties including Geriatrics, Pulmonary, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology, Gastroentrology, Family Medicine and General Medicine.  The service also includes the Critical Care areas of Medicine Intensive Care Unit as well as the Medicine Progressive Care Unit.  Inpatient Dialysis, IV Team, Critical Care Resource Team and the Clinical Decision Unit are also included in the Medicine service line.

The service has a total of 131 Observation, Acute Care beds and Licensed Critical Care beds. In addition, Inpatient Dialysis is a procedural unit with 10 treatment stations in the Unit. The IV Team is a team of specialists that place PICC lines and assist all inpatient Units with difficult access issues.  The Critical Care Resource Team falls under the management of the IV Team but primarily assists in all ICU and Intermediate Care Units throughout the Hospitals.
 

Respectfully,
 

Eric Wolak, MSN, MHA, RN, NE-BC, CCRN-CSC
Clinical Director, Medicine Service

 

Medicine Inpatient Management Leadership Team

 

Eric Wolak, MSN, MHA, RN, NE-BC, CCRN-CSC â€“ Clinical Director
ewolak@unch.unc.edu

 

Nephrology, Gastroenterology, Urology, Family Medicine (3 West)
Pam Ball, RN, BSN - Nurse Manager
pball@unch.unc.edu 

 

 

Dialysis
Richard Scepura, BSN CDN, RN - Nurse Manager

rscepura@unch.unc.edu

 

  

Pulmonary/Infectious Disease (6 Bed Tower)
Turkeisha S. Brown, BSN, RN-BC - Nurse Manager
tsbrown2@unch.unc.edu

 

Geriatrics and General Medicine (8 Bed Tower)
Nikia Smith, RN, BSN - Nurse Manager
nsmith2@unch.unc.edu

 

Nathan Woody, BS
Administrative Officer, Medicine Inpatient Management
nwoody@unch.unc.edu

 

IV Team, Adult Specialty Care Team (ASCT)
Kathy King, RN, BSN - Nurse Manager
kking@unch.unc.ed

 

Beverly Wallace, BS, MBA
Administrative Coordinator, Dialysis
bwallace@unch.unc.edu

 

Medicine Intensive Care Unit (MICU)
Lewis McKenzie, RN, BSN, NE-BC - Nurse Manager
jmckenzi@unch.unc.edu

 

Medicine Progressive Care Unit (MPCU)
Megan O'Connor, RN, BSN - Nurse Manager
moconnor@unch.unc.edu

 

General Medicine, Extended Surgical Care (6 West)
Kittra Felton, RN, BSN  - Nurse Manager
kfelton@unch.unc.edu

 

For questions/comments about this page, send an e-mail to the pagemaster. For technical support contact the ISD Customer Support Center at (919) 966-5647.

Document Actions
Educational Opportunities!

UNCH sponsored Continuing Education courses for nurses listed here

2013 Nursing Annual Report

2013 AR cover animation

Nursing Social Media
FBTwitterGPlus
RSSYou Tube 

 

 

 

Social Media Terms of Use