Holiday Schedule for Epic@UNC Classes

This is a list of the holidays that the ISD and Epic@UNC training departments recognize:

Holidays 2020 Date
1. New Years Day Wednesday, January 1
2. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20
3. Good Friday Friday, April 10
4. Memorial Day Monday, May 25
5. Independence Day Friday, July 3
6. Labor Day Monday, September 7
7. Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26
8. Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 27
9. Christmas Day Friday, December 25

Holidays 2021 Date
1. New Years Day Friday, January 1
2. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Monday, January 18
3. Spring Holiday Friday, April 2
4. Memorial Day Monday, May 31
5. Independence Day Monday, July 5
6. Labor Day Monday, September 6
7. Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25
8. Post-Thanksgiving Friday, November 26
9. Winter Holiday Friday, December 24

The ISD and Epic@UNC Training Team follows the 2 week orientation cycle that most UNC Health organizations use.  

  • If a Monday holiday falls on the Monday of your organization's orientation (which shifts the HR orientation to Tuesday), then most classes will shift accordingly.  These adjustments are reflected in the SumTotal LMS class schedule. There are NO orientations shifted by a holiday in 2019.  
  • The other Monday holidays are during the 2nd week of orientation, so only the 2nd week of classes are impacted and subsequently shifted.  
  • With Monday holidays, physician-related classes do not shift and still begin with Ambulatory Provider classes on Tuesday per our normal schedule.   
  • For holidays that fall on any other day of the week, all classes, including physician-level classes, are shifted the same number of days as the holiday provides.  Again, this is already reflected in the SumTotal LMS class schedule.