You are here: Home > Home > Health and Patient Care > Hospital Ethics Committee > Hospital Ethics Committee Structure and Membership

Hospital Ethics Committee Structure and Membership

Photo of dock at Jordan LakeThe Hospital Ethics Committee has 30 members, representing a variety of disciplinary and community perspectives.   Its members represent the major medical departments; other clinical departments, such as nursing, social work, and allied health; as well as pastoral care, hospital administration, and the community. Members bring experience and expertise in their areas; some members have specific bioethics expertise.   Members and leadership roles within the committee are appointed by the Chief of Staff.   Appointment of new members is staggered in order to ensure experienced membership at all times.

The full Committee meets monthly.  Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson(s) on his or her initiative.

 Current Membership Roster (PDF, updated August 2014)

Membership types

·         Full members are appointed for 3 year terms, with the possibility of reappointment

·         Fellows, residents and graduate students are appointed for up to 3 years

·         Medical students are appointed for up to 2 year terms

·         Bioethics interns are appointed for renewable 1 year terms

·         Ex officio members include representatives from the legal office, hospital administration and the Center for Bioethics

Qualifications and expectations

All members are expected to complete orientation and comply with all Committee education and participation requirements. Information shared within the Committee shall be confidential. 

To ask about membership to the Hospital Ethics Committee, please call 919-843-1470 Monday-Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. There is typically a waiting list for new members.


Arlene Davis, JD 
Director of Clinical Consultation
Co-Director of Ethics Education 

Gary Gala, MD, F.A.C.S.

Rebecca Walker, PhD
Co-Director of Ethics Education



Document Actions